Skip to main content

2020 Steven Krauwer Award for CLARIN Achievements Awarded to Francesca Frontini and Tomasz Walkowiak

Submitted by Linda Stokman on

The 2020 Steven Krauwer Award for CLARIN Achievements was awarded to Francesca Frontini (Istituto di Linguistica Computazionale "A. Zampolli" / CLARIN-IT & Université Paul-Valéry Montpellier 3 / CLARIN-FR) and Tomasz Walkowiak (Wrocław University of Science and Technology / CLARIN-PL) for their outstanding contributions toward CLARIN goals.

Francesca Frontini has been particularly active in spreading the CLARIN word and helping CLARIN grow. She participated in the preparatory phase of CLARIN-IT and has been active in various CLARIN committees and task forces. She has also been a key person in the construction of the CLARIN-FR consortium, notably thanks to her knowledge of different bodies of CLARIN. She is a driving force, both at the scientific level and at the research structuring level, in involving people from different disciplines and keeping the involvement of the CLARIN research communities at a high-level. 

Read more | Interview with Francesca Frontini


Tomasz Walkowiak has become one of the main designers of the concept and architecture of the CLARIN-PL Language Technology Centre. With his knowledge and experience in the field of and software engineering he has been very prominently involved into the Polish in kind contribution to CLARIN , especially in linking many language tools and applications to WebLicht and Language Switchboard, as well as sharing technical expertise with the CLARIN ERIC technological Team. He is keen to support all CLARIN-PL user involvement initiatives. Tomasz has brought outstanding contributions to CLARIN both locally and at a European level.

Read more | Interview with Tomasz Walkowiak