You are here

Legal Issues Committee

The main responsibility of the Legal Issues Committee is to advise the Board of Directors on all issues related to IPR, privacy protection and ethical matters, to be referred to below as 'legal issues'.

Its main tasks include:

  • to collect, consolidate and prepare for publication in a single place the findings and recommendations related to legal issues emerging from the CLARIN preparatory phase project;
  • to maintain the set of license templates supported by CLARIN and adapt them to new developments within or outside CLARIN;
  • to develop and implement procedures for the discussion and adoption of new recommendations for dealing with legal issues;
  • to liaise closely with the Standing Committee for CLARIN Technical Centres in order to ensure that our legal issues policy and its technical implementation are in line;
  • to ensure harmonisation of legal policies between CLARIN ERIC and related initiatives, such as (but not restricted to) the META project and sister SSH infrastructures;
  • to publish and promote the legal policies adopted by CLARIN;
  • to advise the Board of Directors in all legal issues.

You can find further information:

If you have further inquiries on legal issues, you can contact us at

Aleksei Kelli Chair Estonia
Penny Labropoulou Vice-chair Greece
Pavel Straňák Member Czech Republic
Sussi Olsen Member Denmark
Krister Lindén Member Finland
Paweł Kamocki Member France
Erik Ketzan Member Germany
Silvia Calamai Member Italy
Ilze Auziņa Member Latvia
Andrius Utka Member Lithuania
Eelco Ferwerda Member Netherlands
Gunn Inger Lyse Member Norway