CLARIN2022 Panel CLARIN and Other SSH Platforms: You’ll Never Innovate Alone

, -

Event name: Panel | CLARIN and Other SSH Platforms: You’ll Never Innovate Alone

Date: Wednesday, 12 October 2022

Time: 10:00 - 10:40 (CEST)

Venue: Hybrid (for registered participants of CLARIN2022)

Panellists: Representatives from SSH Open Marketplace, CLARIN’s Virtual Language Observatory, Europeana, OPERAS|GoTriple, ELEXIS

Moderator: Jan Hajič

This panel is part of the CLARIN Annual Conference 2022.

About the Panel

Several recent initiatives in the SSH domain have led to the launch of discovery portals that help their audiences find and access digital data. The diversity in discipline-specific portals comes with interesting functionalities and offers welcome support for a range of use cases. However, it may not always be easy for researchers to know which is the right portal for their task or the most suitable platform for depositing their resources. For a fruitful co-existence in the ecosystem and a coherent offer of infrastructural support, it is crucial that providers of SSH services collaborate and innovate together. In this panel, representatives of several portals explain how they see their role in the SSH landscape and discuss the interoperability and complementarity of the different platforms.



Jan Hajič

Bio: Jan Hajič is a professor of Computational Linguistics at the Institute of Formal and Applied Linguistics at the School of Computer Science, Charles University, Prague, Czechia. His research interests cover morphology of inflective languages, machine translation and deep language understanding. Most prominently, he has been involved in building language resources for multiple languages with rich linguistic annotation. He is the director of LINDAT/CLARIAH-CZ, multi-institutional research infrastructure on language resources in Czechia. He has also worked in the U.S. and for several European academic institutions. He has been the PI or Co-PI of numerous international as well as large national grants and projects (including, e.g., the European Language Grid, European Language Equality action, and the High-Performance Language Technology project). He is the chair of the Executive Board of META-NET, European research network in Language Technology, and member of various boards and committees, including the DG Translation Expert Group on Language Industry.



Dieter Van Uytvanck

Bio: Dieter Van Uytvanck is the Technical Director of CLARIN. He graduated in Informatics (2002) and Language and Speech Technology (2007) and has been involved in technical infrastructure building since CLARIN’s preparatory phase in 2008. Between 2004 and 2008 he worked in the context of The Language Archive at the Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics, as part-time technical assistant and corpus manager, supporting researchers to annotate, enrich and deposit language data into the institutional repository. After graduating in 2007, he continued to work at the MPI for Psycholinguistics, first in the CLARIN preparatory ESFRI project (until 2011), then in the technical management of the CLARIN-D infrastructure (until 2016). Since early 2016 he has been working full-time as Technical Director of CLARIN . Since 2021, he has also held the title of Vice Executive Director of CLARIN ERIC.



Alba Irollo

Bio: Alba Irollo is in charge of Europeana Research, the bridge between the Europeana Foundation and researchers, research institutions and infrastructures. She coordinates the Research Advisory Board's activities and is the Europeana Research Community manager. Besides being responsible for the Research Grants Programme, she contributes building partnerships competitive within the Horizon 2020 Programme and the European Science Cloud. She has a PhD in History of Art and is also active as a researcher  in the fields of Heritage and Museum Studies. More recently, she has developed a particular interest in cultural policy.


Simon Krek

Bio: Simon Krek is a researcher and project manager in the Artificial Intelligence Laboratory and project coordinator in ELEXIS. He received a PhD in linguistics from the University of Ljubljana. The topic of his PhD was automatic extraction of lexicographic data from corpora. His main areas of research are lexicography and lexicogrammar, corpus linguistics, natural language processing, language technology infrastructure, and computer-aided language learning and teaching. He is one of the representatives in the CLARIN.SI consortium ( from JSI. He is a member of EURALEX board and the chair of the Innovative e-dictionaries Working Group in European Network of e-Lexicography COST action.



Emilie Blotière

Bio: After working in the banking and insurance sector for 15 years as head of institutional partnerships, Emilie changed fields in 2018. She enrolled in the Master's programme for Digital Technologies Applied to History at the École Nationale des Chartes. In 2019, she joined the Huma-Num team in for the TRIPLE project. As TRIPLE project manager, she is responsible for the administrative and financial aspects of the project, the relations with the European Commission and for honouring the commitments made by the consortium in the Grant Agreement.



Matej Ďurčo 

Bio: Matej Ďurčo is head of the ACDH-CH’s technical working group 'Tools, Services & Systems' and was one of the key figures in founding the institute. Since 2002, he has been a team member of the ACDH-CH’s institutional predecessors, the Austrian Academy Corpus (AAC) and the Institute for Corpus Linguistics and Text Technology (ICLTT), engaging primarily in corpus linguistics and the development of text technological applications. Since 2009, he has been part of the Austrian research infrastructure's core group, contributing substantially to the development of key technical components such as the Component Metadata Infrastructure, the Federated Content Search and the Vocabulary Repository, both on the local and European level. Currently, he acts as coordinator of the Metadata Curation Task Force in CLARIN and is co-head of the Virtual Competence Centre I (e-Infrastructure) in DARIAH. For his achievements in the build-up of CLARIN, he received the first CLARIN Young Scientist Award in 2014.