PhD Student Session at CLARIN2023

The 2023 edition of the CLARIN Annual Conference will again feature a PhD Students Session. The aim of the session is to enable PhD students to share the next generation of research (supported by or contributing to the CLARIN infrastructure), and receive feedback on their work from CLARIN experts. 

Selected candidates are invited to submit a 500-word abstract with description of their PhD project (current or completed in the past year). Submitted abstracts should clearly articulate how the PhD work makes use of the CLARIN infrastructure or how the results will contribute to CLARIN.


Format of the PhD Student Session

The PhD students will have the opportunity to present their work as a poster during the CLARIN Annual Conference 2023. The selected students are invited to present a poster showcasing their research (maximum size A0) during the dedicated PhD Student Session, to be held on Tuesday, 17 October (see the programme here).


Prize for Best PhD Poster

New in 2023 is an award for Best PhD Poster Presentation, for which the will act as the selection committee. The award will be handed out during the closing ceremony of the conference. 


Who Can Submit

Each national consortium decides on a candidate for this session, follow-up questions about the selection process can be addressed to the national coordinators of each country. The submission of the abstract (500 words max) should be done via EasyChair (link) ('PhD session' track).

Submissions are welcomed by PhD students: 

  • who already benefit from using the CLARIN infrastructure in their research,
  • whose envisaged project results could contribute to the enrichment of the CLARIN infrastructure (new corpora; new showcases; support for new languages, new formats, etc.), and/or
  • who can demonstrate the added value of methodological frameworks for the analysis of language data that CLARIN could support.


Deadline for submissions: 8 September 2023.
The conference registration form is sent to students by the relevant national coordinator.